Do smoothies have gluten?

Are you looking for information on making gluten free smoothies? Sam and Super Cubes have you covered below as she runs through the difficulties of gluten and also making the correct ingredient choices to give you a healthy and tasty gluten free smoothie every time!

Are you following a gluten-free diet?

You might be wondering do smoothies have gluten or if you can still enjoy your morning smoothie without any issues.

The good news is that although some smoothies contain gluten, you can make gluten-free smoothies with ease.

So, whether you’re gluten-free due to Coeliac disease, an intolerance or if you’re just reducing your grain intake, there is definitely smoothie options for you.

First, I’ll start with what is gluten as many of the Super Cubes readers may not know what gluten is.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein that naturally occurs in some types of grains, such as wheat, rye and barley.

Gluten has been part of the human diet for millennia.

However, many health experts suggest that our modern lifestyles combined with the increased gluten content in grain-based problems have led to a rise in gluten-related health issues.

Does everyone need to avoid gluten?

No.

There are some people who need to avoid gluten, and some who benefit from avoiding it.

But there are many people who have gluten-containing foods as part of a balanced diet and do just fine.

If you have been diagnosed with Coeliac disease, you need to avoid gluten and products that ‘may contain gluten’.

Consumption of gluten causes a variety of nasty symptoms and damages the digestive tract in people with Coeliac disease.

If you have what is known as non-Coeliac gluten sensitivity, avoiding gluten can relieve symptoms.

This condition is still a recent discovery and the research is still in its infancy.

If you’re not sure about whether you should be avoiding gluten, you should really seek advice from a qualified nutritionist.



Gluten-containing ingredients to avoid

Gluten is found in a variety of foods and food ingredients, so it’s good to have an idea of what to look out for.

Here are some sources of gluten that you might find in a smoothie or in smoothie ingredients:

  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat starch
  • Barley
  • Malt
  • Rye

This is by no means an exhaustive list – if you’re unsure, check to see if the label states ‘contains gluten/wheat’ or ‘may contain traces of gluten’.

One ingredient that is controversial in the gluten-free circles of Australia is the humble oat.

The Australian Food Standards Code has prohibited the use of ‘gluten-free’ on products with oats.

However, in Europe and USA, oats that have no measurable contamination with wheat, rye or barley may be labelled gluten-free.

If these products are then resold in Australia, they will be re-labelled as ‘low gluten’.

There is also a percentage of people with Coeliac who will have a reaction to a protein in oats that is similar to gluten.

If you’re not sure whether you should be having oats at all and you’re having some discomfort, you should speak to your healthcare team.

Now we have that over we can move into the ingredients to use in a gluten-free smoothie.

Read more like this

How you can make your vege smoothies taste good

Do you need to peel fruit to put in smoothies?

What’s the best blender to buy to make smoothies?

What to use in a gluten-free smoothie

Looking to craft a smoothie that is gluten-free?

Here are some great ingredients that add into your favourite smoothie that are typically gluten-free.

  • Any fresh fruit
  • Any fresh vegetables
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Nut and seed butters
  • Quinoa and quinoa flakes
  • Milk and yoghurt
  • Non-dairy mylks and yoghurts
  • Buckwheat, wheatgrass and barleygrass
  • Cocoa/cacao
  • Maca
  • Mesquite
  • Dried/fresh herbs and spices
  • Most protein powders, including rice protein, egg protein and whey protein

P.S. These ingredients should be gluten-free, but different brands may add gluten/wheat-based ingredients or contain traces due to cross-contamination. If you are severely intolerant or having Coeliac disease, make sure that you check the label of any product you are looking to use for a warning to be sure and safe.

Making your next smoothie

As you can see from the above there are still plenty of options to make healthy and tasty smoothie recipes while keeping an eye on your gluten intake.

If you are looking for a great start point for your gluten free smoothie creations, Super Cubes have two choices for you in the Berry Digest Smoothie cubes and the Super Greens Smoothie cubes.

You can see both of these cubes nutritional break downs in the Super Cubes online store.

If you do have any other food allergies, please have a look through the ingredients before making a purchase.

Other than that, have fun making new smoothies and smoothie bowls with the ingredients from above, just because you can’t have gluten it doesn’t mean you can’t have any food fun!

 

Author | Samantha Gemmell
Sam is a Nutritionist, Health Writer and Wellness Speaker as well as being an Author for Super Cubes.
She is passionate about sharing her knowledge and helping people through their journey to health and wellness combining their mindset, nutrition and lifestyle. When she’s not helping people, she enjoys dancing in the rain and cuddling dogs.
Sometimes she does both at the same time.

Buy your Super Cubes now!